Prime Minister’s Prize winners

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science award Australian scientists and innovators with prizes to recognise outstanding achievements in science, research-based innovation and commercialisation.

Congratulations to two Sydney scientists for their exceptional work in developing sustainable energy technologies.

Associate Professor Xiaojing Hao (pictured) from UNSW was recognised as a world-renowned leader in thin-film solar photovoltaics winning the Physical Scientist of the Year prize. Her work developing more environmentally friendly and efficient solar cells has set global records for energy conversion efficiency.

Professor Thomas Maschmeyer from The University of Sydney was awarded the Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation for his work in developing commercially viable processes to recycle mixed plastics and developing a new low-cost battery technology to store renewable energy.

For more information, see Prime Minister's Prizes for Science, UNSW and The University of Sydney.