Chair reappointed at AEMO

Energy Ministers have agreed to reappoint Mr Drew Clarke AO PSM FTSE to Chair of the Board of the Australian Energy Market Operator for a second term of 4 years.

Mr Clarke’s government and energy sector experience in the role will support a period of rapid change in the NEM, including delivery of critical market reforms agreed by Energy Ministers.

Mr Clarke was originally appointed Chair of the AEMO Board in 2017. He has extensive senior experience in government having led 2 departments and 3 agencies, including as Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism until 2013.  

Mr Clarke was awarded an Order of Australia in 2016 for distinguished service to public administration and is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

‘I thank Mr Clarke for his exemplary performance to date and welcome his reappointment to this critical role,’ said the Hon Angus Taylor MP, Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction.

‘I look forward to continuing to work with him to progress important energy market reforms, including detailed design of a capacity mechanism.’

Read more

Minister’s media release