Australia to co-chair IEA Ministerial Meeting 2022

The Hon Angus Taylor MP, Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction, has been appointed as a Co-Vice Chair for the International Energy Agency (IEA) Ministerial Meeting 2022.

The meeting will be held in Paris in the first quarter of 2022. The IEA Ministerial meets every two years to set the agency’s mandate and review its achievements. It will be a key opportunity for countries to work together to reduce global greenhouse gas emissions. It aims to meet the goals of the Paris Agreement while ensuring secure energy supplies. 

‘The IEA Ministerial Meeting is an important biennial event that sets the future work program of the IEA,’ Minister Taylor said.

‘The 2022 Ministerial Meeting comes at a critical time for shaping the future of global energy governance and security. Modernising the IEA's agenda is a key focus of the 2022 meeting, particularly in the context of moving towards a global low emissions energy future.

‘The government is strengthening the reliability of our electricity grid while both lowering prices for Australian households and businesses, and reducing emissions. Key issues on the IEA's modernisation agenda are aligned with the government's Technology Investment Roadmap.’

See the IEA Statement and the Minister’s media release.