Government priorities


G20 Working Groups

The Group of 20 (G20) is the premier forum for global economic cooperation and includes working groups on energy transition, environment, and climate sustainability.

G20 members account for some 75% of global energy demand. The Energy Transitions Working Group focuses on energy security, access and efficiency and the transition to lower carbon energy systems including investment and innovation in cleaner and more efficient technologies. The Environment Senior Officials meeting focuses on global environment cooperation including on issues such as resource efficiency and marine plastic pollution.

Since 1 December 2020 Italy holds the Presidency of the G20. The G20 will culminate in the Leaders’ Summit, which will be held in Rome on 30th and 31 October 2021.

G20 since Australia’s Presidency in 2014

As President of the G20 in 2014, the Australian Government‘s G20 energy agenda focused on energy efficiency and strengthening energy markets, culminating in the creation and adoption of the G20 Energy Principles and the G20 Energy Efficiency Action Plan (EEAP).

In 2015 under Turkey’s Presidency, G20 countries worked together to produce the Energy Access Action Plan in Sub-Saharan Africa and the G20 Toolkit for Renewable Energy deployment.

China as the 2016 G20 President built upon the EEAP and developed a long term plan for energy efficiency—the G20 Energy Efficiency Leading Program. They also expanded Turkey’s Energy Access agenda to develop a G20 Energy Access Action Plan for the Asia-Pacific.

As G20 President in 2017, Germany established the Climate Sustainability Working Group (CSWG). The Environment Sustainability Working Group and CSWG worked together to develop the G20 Climate and Energy Action Plan for Growth to promote clean energy, align financial flows and support countries to implement their Paris Agreement Commitments.

The main theme of the 2018 Argentina Presidency for the Sustainable Working Groups was climate change and extreme climate events, with a focus on development of resilient infrastructure and job creation. During the Presidency, a work program was created outlining reports, short studies, events and workshops as an iterative document to be used by subsequent Presidencies. 

Read more

G20 website

Twitter@G20Australia follow Australia’s G20 Sherpa Dr David Gruen