Government priorities


Energy Ministers

The Energy National Cabinet Reform Committee (ENCRC) and the Energy Ministers’ Meeting (EMM) are Ministerial forums for the Commonwealth, Australian states and territories, and New Zealand to work together on priority issues of national significance and key reforms in the energy sector.

ENCRC and EMM are chaired by the Minister for Climate Change and Energy, the Hon Chris Bowen MP.

These meetings were established to replace the former Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Energy Council following the disbandment of COAG in May 2020.

Energy Ministers work closely with Energy Consumers Australia, and have oversight of the following energy market institutions responsible for the operation of national energy markets:

  • the Energy Security Board (ESB)—whole of system oversight through transition
  • the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)—the rule maker and market development adviser
  • the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)—the system operator
  • the Australian Energy Regulator (AER)—the economic regulator and rule enforcer.


As a subcommittee of National Cabinet, ENCRC are tasked with priorities and report on the delivery of these to National Cabinet.

EMM priorities are determined by Energy Ministers. EMM priorities are time limited, tied to discrete, tangible deliverables and reviewed every 12 months.


Energy Ministers meet as needed—by telepresence or face to face. The agenda for each meeting reflects the key priorities. Work is also progressed out of session as necessary.

Further information on the former COAG Energy Council can be found on the archived website.

Energy Ministers updates

Subscribe for Energy Ministers updates.