Government priorities


Energy markets

Energy is essential to our modern lifestyle in Australia—it's connected to almost everything we do.

With our gas and electricity markets experiencing rapid change, the Australian Government’s priority is to ensure consumers receive affordable, reliable, sustainable and secure energy.

The Council of Australian Governments Energy Council (COAG Energy Council), chaired by the Commonwealth Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction, is the body responsible for supervising and reforming Australia’s energy markets. With the support of the states and territories, the government seeks to promote the efficient investment, operation and use of energy in Australia.

The Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources supports the Commonwealth Minister responsible for energy and seeks to achieve Australian Government policy objectives in Energy Council decisions.

The COAG Energy Council is supported by 3 key market bodies. The Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC) develops the rules by which the market must operate. The Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) handles the day-to-day operations of the electricity and gas markets. The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) enforces the national electricity market rules and makes judgements on the regulatory proposals of monopoly network operators.

The COAG Energy Council commissioned the Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel AO to undertake an independent review in the future security of the National Electricity Market (NEM). The Final Report, delivered in June 2017, provides our long-term energy policies in the Blueprint for the Future.

Find out about:

More information

Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) Australian Government

Australian Energy Regulator (AER) Australian Government

Energy security

Energy supply

Energy information for businesses 

Energy information for households 

National Electricity Market (NEM) (AEMC) Australian Government