Government priorities


Energy and Climate Change Ministerial Council

On 30 September 2022 National Cabinet agreed to establish the Energy and Climate Change Ministerial Council (ECMC) within the streamlined model of Australia’s federal relations architecture. This council replaces the former Energy National Cabinet Reform Committee, which was preceded by the COAG Energy Council.

The ECMC is a forum for the Commonwealth, Australian states and territories, and New Zealand to work together on priority issues of national significance and key reforms in the energy and climate change sectors. ECMC is chaired by the Minister for Climate Change and Energy, the Hon Chris Bowen MP.

ECMC works closely with Energy Consumers Australia, and has oversight of the following energy market institutions responsible for the operation of national energy markets:

  • the Energy Security Board (ESB)—whole of system oversight through transition
  • the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)—the rule maker and market development adviser
  • the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)—the system operator
  • the Australian Energy Regulator (AER)—the economic regulator and rule enforcer.


ECMC is tasked with select priorities by National Cabinet as well as determining additional priorities and a workplan. ECMC will review its priorities, work program and terms of reference annually.


ECMC will meet no less than four times a year. Every second meeting will be convened as Energy Ministers meeting as ECMC. The agenda for each meeting will reflect ECMC’s agreed priorities. Additional meetings may be convened as required. Work is also progressed out of session as necessary.

ECMC updates

Subscribe for ECMC updates.