Government responses to COVID-19 in the energy sector

Last updated 4/10/2022

  • The Australian Government and state and territory governments are working together to manage energy sector impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Information about vaccines is available from

The former Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Energy Council agreed to a comprehensive approach to identifying and managing the impacts of the pandemic on the energy sector. This builds on arrangements already in place for energy sector emergencies. These include extreme weather events and bushfires.

Energy Ministers agreed that governments and industry will work together in a number of key areas. This includes the National Coordination Mechanism. This brings together senior executives from governments and industry.

Ministers encouraged the energy sector to consider support measures for customers experiencing difficulties.

Energy Market response to the COVID-19 pandemic

Australian Energy Market Operator

The Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) has implemented a pandemic response plan. This plan provides the maximum possible protection and resilience for AEMO critical operations and people. AEMO is also working with the energy industry to support pandemic management across the sector.

COVID-19 pandemic response plan Australian Energy Market Operator

Australian Energy Regulator

The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) released a Statement of Expectations of energy companies to protect householders and small business customers during the pandemic.

Following the release of the Statement, the AER called on retailers to provide additional data on a voluntary basis to enable visibility of the effect of COVID-19 on the retail energy market.

Statement of Expectations of energy businesses Australian Energy Regulator

Retail market COVID-19 data dashboards Australian Energy Regulator

Help for consumers impacted by COVID-19 Australian Energy Regulator

Fuel supply during the COVID-19 pandemic

The Australian Government is working with petroleum refiners to keep up fuel supplies.

Australia has a reliable fuel supply, even during significant global and local disruptions. The local market is well supplied with fuel products and demand for fuel is lower due to the coronavirus.

Australia imports fuel from more than 70 countries. No single country provides more than 20% of our total petroleum imports. If there is a problem with fuel supply in a specific region, Australia can source fuel from other places.

Oil companies allowed to co-operate to secure fuel supply during COVID-19 pandemic ACCC

Australian Institute of Petroleum conditional authorisation ACCC

Find COVID-19 help from your state or territory government



Northern Territory


South Australia 



Western Australia

Read more

COVID-19 daily updated information (Department of Health) Australian Government

Latest COVID‑19 news, updates and advice from Australian Government agencies Australian Government